Association for Gerontology in Higher Education
Saturday, December 20, 2014
...Globalizing Education on Aging
Search this site.View the site map.

 HomeAbout AGHERecognition (Awards) > Distinguished Faculty Award



(Formerly Distinguished Teacher Honor)


The Distinguished Faculty Honor recognizes persons whose teaching stands out as exemplary, innovative, of impact, or any combination thereof. The Distinguished Faculty Honor will provide a highlighted teaching workshop at the annual meeting of the Association for Gerontology in Higher Education (AGHE). Self-nominations are not permitted.

Note: Those Nominated must be willing and able to attend the 2015 AGHE Annual Meeting in Nashville, TN, and present a teaching workshop during the meeting.


Full-time faculty members at an AGHE affiliated institution with a minimum of five years of teaching experience are eligible to be nominated for this award.


The Nominator is responsible for submitting:

1. Letter of Nomination: The letter should address the purpose and qualifications of the Distinguished Faculty Nominee. The letter should emphasize teaching, rather than research, professional activity, or public service (unless those activities bear directly on teaching excellence). Maximum: 2 pages.

2. Letters of Support: A minimum of two letters of support should be collected from colleagues of the Distinguished Faculty Nominee (within and/or outside his/her current institution; current and/or past undergraduate and/or graduate students; and/or representatives of the institutional administration). Maximum: 2 pages each.

3. Biographical Sketch of the Distinguished Faculty Nominee. Maximum: 3 pages. (Full vita will not be accepted.)

The deadline for receipt of nominations is June 3, 2014. Nominations materials should be sent to For questions about the award of submission process, contact the AGHE office at (202) 289-9806(202) 289-9806 or at
Only e-mail submissions in .pdf format are accepted.  Incomplete submissions will not be accepted. 



 2014 Distinguished Faculty

Cynthia Hancock, Ph.D.

University of North Carolina Charlotte


2012 Distinguished Faculty
Leslie A. Morgan, Ph.D.
University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Jennifer R. Sasser, Ph.D.
Maryhurst University


2011 Distinguished Teachers
Eleanor Covan, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina Wilmington
Mary B. Ligon, Ph.D.
York College of Pennsylvania


2010 Distinguished Teachers
Karen A. Hooker, Ph.D.
Oregon State University
Rona J. Karasik, Ph.D.
Saint Cloud State University


2009 Distinguished Teachers

Laura K. Donorfio, Ph.D.
University of Connecticut

Karen F. Kopera-Frye, Ph.D.
University of Nevada, Reno


2008 Distinguished Teachers

Dana Burr Bradley, Ph.D.
Western Kentucky University

E. Ayn Welleford, Ph.D.
Virginia Commonwealth University


2007 Distinguished Teachers

Robert M. Beland, Ph.D.
University of Florida

Darlene Yee-Melichar, Ed.D.
San Francisco State University