Association for Gerontology in Higher Education
Friday, December 19, 2014
...Globalizing Education on Aging
Search this site.View the site map.

Home > About AGHE > Recognition (Awards) > Hiram J. Friedsam Mentorship Award



Hiram J. Friedsam was a professor, co-founder, and director of the Center for Studies in Aging and Dean of the School of Community Service at the University of North Texas. The University of North Texas established the first gerontology program in the state of Texas and one of the first in the nation.   He was an outstanding teacher, researcher, colleague, and mentor to students, faculty, and administrators, and a past-president of AGHE. The purpose of this award is to recognize those who emulate Dr. Friedsam's excellence in mentorship.


Nominees must have contributed to gerontological education through excellence in mentorship to students, faculty, or administrators and have advanced the goals and mission of the Association for Gerontology in Higher Education. At the time of the nomination, the nominee must be affiliated with an AGHE member institution.


Nominees will be reviewed and an awardee will be recommended by the AGHE Awards Committee with final approval given by the Association's Executive Committee.


The awardee receives a plaque presented at AGHE’s Annual Meeting.  The awardee receives complimentary registration, a hotel room for one night and a $500 cash award. The awardees will be asked to make a presentation on mentoring at AGHE's annual conference.


To be considered for the award, the nominator must submit, via email, a nominations packet that includes a primary letter of nomination, a maximum of four supporting letters of nomination, and a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae. Only electronic submissions will be reviewed. If at all possible, the nomination packet should be in the form of one, pdf-ed file that includes all of the required material. Nomination packets should be sent to AGHE at

The deadline for receipt of nominations is June 3, 2014. For questions about this award, please contact the AGHE office at (202) 289-9806(202) 289-9806 or via email at

The nominator may want to consider whether to keep the nomination confidential from the nominee.



2014 Award Winner
Nina M. Silverstein, Ph.D.
College of Public and Community Service
Professor and Director - Undergraduate Gerontology Program
University of Massachusetts Boston
2013 Award Winner
Lesa Lorenzen Huber, Ph.D.
Department of Applied Health Sciences
Clinical Assistant Professor
Indiana University
2012 Award Winner
Marilyn R. Gugliucci, Ph.D.
Department of Geriatric Medicine, College of Osteopathic Medicine, and
Director of Geriatrics Education and Research
University of New England
 2011 Award Winner
Dena Shenk, Ph.D.
Department of Anthropology, and Director of Gerontology, University of North Carolina Charlotte
2010 Award Winner
David A. Chiriboga, Ph.D.
Department of Aging and Mental Health Disparities, University of South Florida
2009 Award Winner
Suzanne R. Kunkel, Ph.D.
Scripps Gerontology Center, Miami University