Association for Gerontology in Higher Education
Monday, December 22, 2014
...Globalizing Education on Aging
Search this site.View the site map.

Home > About AGHE > Recognition (Awards) > Part-Time Faculty Recognition




Nationwide, reliance on part-time and/or adjunct faculty to teach gerontology courses is very high. Without the efforts and dedication of these individuals, often at extremely low compensation, gerontology programs might not be able to deliver a full curriculum. Accordingly, AGHE invites you to nominate one of these individuals so that he/she might be formally recognized for contributions to gerontological education at your institution.


  1. Each member institution may nominate one part-time/adjunct faculty member per year.
  2. Nominees should demonstrate high quality teaching as documented by peer and/or student evaluations.
  3. Nominees should also demonstrate a long-term commitment (at least five years) to gerontology education both in the classroom and beyond.
  4. Full-time faculty are not eligible to receive this award even if their gerontology assignments are part time. 

This is a form of recognition rather than a competitive awards process. Those nominated are not required to attend the annual meeting or be active members of AGHE. Self-nominations are not permitted.


Nominees will be reviewed by the AGHE Faculty Development Committee. Several individuals may be recognized each year.


Those selected for recognition will receive a personalized certificate from AGHE and will be recognized (by reading a list of their names) at AGHE's annual conference during the business meeting.


  1. The Institutional Representative of the nominating institution shall submit a completed nomination form to the Faculty Development Committee Chair. Nomination forms may be downloaded and printed by clicking here.
  2. A brief biographical sketch for the nominee should be attached to the nomination form. (Full vita will not be accepted.)  (Maximum: 3 pages)
  3. The Faculty Development Committee will review the nominations. All nominees meeting eligibility requirements will receive a Certificate of Recognition from AGHE.

The deadline for receipt of nominations is June 3, 2014. For questions about this award, please contact the AGHE office at (202) 289-9806(202) 289-9806 or via email:






Judith Griffin
Barbara Hughes Leasure
Victoria S. Thieme
David Oliver 
University of Massachusetts Boston
Carroll Lutheran Village
University of New England College of Medicine
University of Missouri-Columbia 

Reeve Lipworth Goldhaber
Louise M. Murray
Boston University
University of North Carolina Charlotte

Charlotte Paolini
University of New England

2009 Darlene Heian Utica College

Christa Caldarale-Ahern

Catherine Ivy
The Richard Stockton College of New Jersey

Georgia State University


Anne Summer

John Hogan
Marilynn G. Goering
University of New England

Oregon State University

Madonna University

2006 Kaye Herzer Spokane Falls Community College