Association for Gerontology in Higher Education
Monday, December 22, 2014
...Globalizing Education on Aging
Search this site.View the site map.


Home > About AGHE > Recognition (Awards)  > Clark Tibbitts Award

This award, named for an architect of the field of gerontological education, is given by AGHE each year to an individual or organization that has made an outstanding contribution to the advancement of gerontology and geriatrics education.
Nominees must have made a national impact on gerontology or geriatrics education, have had significant involvement in gerontology and/or geriatrics education, and have advanced the goals and mission of the Association for Gerontology in Higher Education. At the time of the nomination, the nominee must be affiliated with an AGHE member institution.
Nominees will be reviewed and an awardee will be recommended by the AGHE Awards Committee with final approval given by the Association's Executive Committee.  
The awardee becomes an honorary Fellow of the Association and delivers a major address at the Annual Conference of the Association for Gerontology in Higher Education.
To be considered for the award, the nominator must submit, via email, a nominations packet that includes a primary letter of nomination, a maximum of four supporting letters of nomination, and a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae. Only electronic submissions will be reviewed. If at all possible, the nomination packet should be in the form of one, pdf-ed file that includes all of the required material. Nomination packets should be sent to AGHE at:
The deadline for receipt of nominations is June 3, 2014. For questions about this award, please contact the AGHE office at (202) 289-9806(202) 289-9806 or via email at 
The nominator may want to consider whether to keep the nomination confidential from the nominee.

2014 - Harry "Rick" Moody (AARP-retired)
2013 - Marie A. Bernard (National Institute on Aging/National Institute of Health)
2012 - John A. Krout (Ithaca College)
(Click for the full text of lecture)
2011 - Edward F. Ansello (Virginia Commonwealth University)
(Click for the full text of lecture)
2010 - Frank J. Whittington (George Mason University)
(Click for the full text of lecture)
2009 - Larry Polivka (University of South Florida)
2008 - Leonard W. Poon (University of Georgia)
2007 - Robert H. Binstock (Case Western Reserve University)
2006 - William J. McAuley (George Mason University)
2005 - Sally Newman (University of Pittsburgh