Hiram J. Friedsam Mentorship Award

Hiram J. Friedsam Mentorship Award Nominating Information

Purpose of the Award

Hiram J. Friedsam was a professor, co-founder, and director of the Center for Studies in Aging and Dean of the School of Community Service at the University of North Texas. The University of North Texas established the first gerontology program in the state of Texas and one of the first in the nation.   He was an outstanding teacher, researcher, colleague, and mentor to students, faculty, and administrators, and a past-president of AGHE. The purpose of this award is to recognize those who emulate Dr. Friedsam's excellence in mentorship.

Eligibility Criteria

Nominees must have contributed to gerontological education through excellence in mentorship to students, faculty, or administrators and have advanced the goals and mission of the Association for Gerontology in Higher Education. At the time of the nomination, the nominee must be affiliated with an AGHE member institution.


Nominees will be reviewed and an awardee will be recommended by the AGHE Awards Committee with final approval given by the Association's Executive Committee.


The awardee receives a plaque presented at AGHE’s Annual Meeting.  The awardee receives complimentary registration, a hotel room for one night and a $500 cash award. The awardees will be asked to make a presentation on mentoring at AGHE's annual conference.

Nomination Process

To be considered for the award, the nominator must submit, via email, a nominations packet that includes a primary letter of nomination, a maximum of four supporting letters of nomination, and a copy of the nominee's curriculum vitae. Only electronic submissions will be reviewed. If at all possible, the nomination packet should be in the form of one, pdf-ed file that includes all of the required material. Nomination packets should be sent to AGHE at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

For questions about this award please contact the AGHE office at (202) 289-9806 or via email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

The nominator may want to consider whether to keep the nomination confidential from the nominee.

2016 Award Winner
Jan Abushakrah, Ph.D.
Portland Community College

2015 Award Winner
Jennifer C. Mendez, Ph.D.
Wayne State University

2014 Award Winner
Nina M. Silverstein, Ph.D.
University of Massachusetts Boston

2013 Award Winner
Lesa Lorenzen Huber, Ph.D.
Indiana University
2012 Award Winner
Marilyn R. Gugliucci, Ph.D.
University of New England
 2011 Award Winner
Dena Shenk, Ph.D.
University of North Carolina Charlotte
2010 Award Winner
David A. Chiriboga, Ph.D.
University of South Florida
2009 Award Winner
Suzanne R. Kunkel, Ph.D.
Scripps Gerontology Center, Miami University

Share This Page!

Print Page