Administrative Leadership Honor*

Purpose of the Honor

The Administrative Leadership Honor honors administrators on AGHE member campuses who have made exceptional efforts in support of gerontology and/or geriatrics education.

Eligibility Criteria

Nominees should be administrators above the level of everyday program operation, such as Deans, Provosts, or Presidents. Such individuals must have 'gone the extra mile' to support gerontology and/or geriatrics education on campus. At the time of the nomination, the nominee must be affiliated with an AGHE member institution.


Nominees will be reviewed and an honoree will be recommended by the AGHE Awards Committee with final approval given by the Association's Executive Committee.


Recipient(s) receive a personalized certificate, complimentary Annual Meeting registration in the year the honor is presented, and will be honored at the Annual Meeting of the Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education. The complimentary registration can be given to an administrative designee at the recipient's institution.

Nomination Process

The Nominator is responsible for submitting:

1. Nomination Form

2. Curriculum Vitae or Resume

3. Headshot

Only electronic submissions will be reviewed. If at all possible, the nomination packet should be in the form of one, PDF file that includes all of the required material. Nomination packets should be sent to AGHE at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Nominators are encouraged to work closely with nominees to ensure the strongest and most complete nomination package possible. Self-nominations are not permitted.

For questions about this award please contact the AGHE office at (202) 289-9806 or via email at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Joann M. Montepare, Ph.D. | Lasell College
Director, RoseMary B. Fuss Center for Research on Aging


John R. Bartle, Ph.D. | University of Nebraska, Omaha
Dean, College of Public Affairs and Community Services

J. Kevin Eckert, Ph.D. | University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Chair, Department of Sociology & Anthropology

Danielle N. Ripich, Ph.D. | University of New England


Pinchas Cohen, MD | University of Southern California
Dean, Leonard Davis School of Gerontology


Robbyn R. Wacker, Ph.D. | University of Northern Colorado


Judy L. Genshaft, Ph.D. | University of South Florida
President & Chief Executive Officer of USF System


Nadine A. Coudret, Ed.D. | University of Southern Indiana
Dean, College of Nursing and Health Professions


Tammy M. Bray, Ph.D. | Oregon State University
Executive Dean, Division of Health Sciences and Dean, College of Health & Human Sciences


Malinda Orlin, Ph.D. | The University of Maryland in Baltimore
Vice-President for Academic Affairs & Dean, Graduate School

Scott Bass, Ph.D. | University of Maryland Baltimore County
Dean of the Graduate School & Vice-President for Research

* Award was changed to an Honor in April 2016.

Share This Page!

Print Page