Distinguished Faculty Award*

Purpose of the Award

The Distinguished Faculty Award recognizes persons whose teaching stands out as exemplary, innovative, of impact, or any combination thereof. The Distinguished Faculty Awardee will provide a highlighted lecture or workshop at the Annual Meeting of the Academy for Gerontology in Higher Education (AGHE).

Note: Those nominated must be willing and able to attend the AGHE Annual Meeting and present a lecture/teaching workshop during the meeting.

Eligibility Criteria

Full-time faculty members at an AGHE affiliated institution with a minimum of five years of teaching experience are eligible to be nominated for this award.


Nominees will be reviewed and an awardee will be recommended by the AGHE Awards Committee with final approval given by the Association's Executive Committee.

Nomination Process

The Nominator is responsible for submitting:

1. Letter of Nomination: The letter should address the purpose and qualifications of the Distinguished Faculty Nominee. The letter should emphasize teaching, rather than research, professional activity, or public service (unless those activities bear directly on teaching excellence). Maximum: 2 pages.

2. Letters of Support: A minimum of two letters of support should be collected from colleagues of the Distinguished Faculty Nominee (within and/or outside his/her current institution; current and/or past undergraduate and/or graduate students; and/or representatives of the institutional administration). Maximum: 2 pages each.

3. Curriculum Vitae

4. Headshot

Only electronic submissions will be reviewed. Incomplete submissions will not be accepted. If at all possible, the nomination packet should be in the form of one, PDF file that includes all of the required material. Nomination packets should be sent to AGHE at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

Nominators are encouraged to work closely with nominees to ensure the strongest and most complete nomination package possible. Self-nominations are not permitted.

For questions about the award of submission process, contact the AGHE office at (202) 289-9806 or at This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..


Phyllis A. Greenberg, Ph.D. | St. Cloud State University


Judith A. Sugar, Ph.D. | University of Nevada, Reno


Elizabeth M. Zelinski, Ph.D. | University of Southern California


Graham D. Rowles, Ph.D. | University of Kentucky


Cynthia Hancock, Ph.D. | University of North Carolina Charlotte


Leslie A. Morgan, Ph.D. | University of Maryland, Baltimore County
Jennifer R. Sasser, Ph.D. | Maryhurst University


Eleanor Covan, Ph.D. | University of North Carolina Wilmington
Mary B. Ligon, Ph.D. | York College of Pennsylvania


Karen A. Hooker, Ph.D. | Oregon State University
Rona J. Karasik, Ph.D. | Saint Cloud State University


Laura K. Donorfio, Ph.D. | University of Connecticut
Karen F. Kopera-Frye, Ph.D. | University of Nevada, Reno


Dana Burr Bradley, Ph.D. | Western Kentucky University
E. Ayn Welleford, Ph.D. | Virginia Commonwealth University


Robert M. Beland, Ph.D. | University of Florida
Darlene Yee-Melichar, Ed.D. | San Francisco State University

* Honor was changed to an Award in April 2016.

Share This Page!

Print Page